Terms of Reference


ARBSC aims to improve recreational boating safety, reduce injuries and deaths, and promote uniform approaches to the regulation of recreational vessels.


The ARBSC has an annual workplan addressing the following functions:

  1. Identify nationally significant boating safety issues and develop effective and timely responses.
  2. Promote uniform approaches to identified recreational boating safety issues such as standards, policies, procedures, regulations and safety campaigns.
  3. Ensure national consistency in the collection and reporting of recreational boating incident data, oversight maintenance of that data by AMSA, and review national incident data each year.
  4. Monitor, oversight and review:
  5. the National Standard for the Australian Builders Plate for Recreational Boats;
  6. the National Standard for Recreational Boat Safety Equipment.
  7. Monitor national and international developments in recreational boating safety.
  8. Administer consultancies and contracts agreed in the workplan.
  9. Maintain the ARBSC website including the Safe Boating website.
  10. Engage with peak recreational boating and industry groups.
  11. Organise a national forum or conference on recreational boating safety issues at agreed periods.
  12. Consider issues arising from coronial investigations and coordinate responses as required.
  13. Approve and oversight the annual work plan of ANZSBEG.
  14. Consider reports and recommendations from ANZSBEG.
  15. Provide feedback and guidance to ANZSBEG.
  16. Conduct a biennial review of the functions and operations of the committee.
  17. Undertake other relevant matters as determined by the Committee, or referred by AMG from time to time.


The ARBSC is a sub committee of AMG and is subject to its direction and control.

The ARBSC will meet on a minimum of three occasions each year, provide issues papers to AMG as required, and provide an annual report summarising its work.

One meeting is to be primarily dedicated to agreeing the annual workplan for ARBSC and ANZSBEG, including KPIs and milestones, and reviewing the previous annual workplan.

The ARBSC comprises senior officers (or their nominee) with responsibility for Marine Safety in each jurisdiction.

The membership of the Committee will consist of the following organisations, or the equivalent succeeding organisations:

  • Australian Maritime Safety Authority
  • Department of Transport, Energy and Infrastructure SA
  • Department of Transport WA
  • Marine and Safety Tasmania
  • Marine Safety Branch, Department of Lands and Planning NT
  • Maritime Safety Queensland
  • Office of Boating Safety & Maritime Affairs, Transport for NSW
  • Transport Safety Victoria

Maritime New Zealand will have observer status and be invited to participate in each meeting. The chair, administration and secretariat functions of the Committee will be rotated by agreement amongst the jurisdictions every 2 years.

The jurisdiction responsible for chairing the ARBSC will be entitled to nominate another person to sit as a member.

Arrangements for funding, and for the administration of funding of ARBSC functions will be resolved by the Committee as required.

The ARBSC may meet out of session and resolve matters through the distribution of papers through the Chair.

The ARBSC is a voting forum with a vote carried by simple majority of jurisdictions voting on a matter. Neither the Chair nor observers may vote.

It is the responsibility of each ARBSC member to declare and manage any potential or perceived conflicts of interest relating to the business of ARBSC.

The ARBSC is an administrative sub committee of AMG and is not an incorporated entity.


A 3 year agreement has been developed to fund activities including:

  • dealing with inquiries from the public
  • providing secretariat support for ARBSC and ANZSBEG
  • covering meeting costs
  • funding and manage special projects and consultancies
  • funding approved projects of ANZSBEG, and
  • supporting data collection and storage.